So Excited…

February 28, 2011

Five days ago I started this blog…knowing not the first thing about blogging.  Knowing that I wanted to start a journey with people all over the world.  A journey through hands and their stories. 

Since I first created this blog site until this very moment, I have been constantly turning ideas over in my head, talking them out with friends, and have built some excitement amongst my local peers.  My hope is that the willingness to participate will catch on…because I am not fortunate enough to travel the countryside, let alone the world documenting hands.  Though that is a fantastic dream!

I embrace both the idea of hands and the stories pictures of tell of them, and the idea that there is a story that goes along with the picture of a hand.   I see this project: “hands that shape the world” as being workable and acceptable from both vantage points.  The photo is art…that is what excites me.  

I have decided to dedicate 2 years of my life to this project/journey.  I think 2 years is a good amount of time, a committment that I know I can keep.  I think cutting it shorter than that would be premature…it would be great to be hitting my stride with followers and submissions around the time year one comes to pass.  And, anything over two years (unless it is marriage or motherhood) is too much of a committment at this time in my life, I think.

I am very excited to be able to post a bunch of pictures tomorrow.  A friend spent the weekend with her family and captured some fabulous hands and stories!

Until the next time, Adieu!

Hands That Shaped The World

February 28, 2011

The main tenet of the project: “hands that shape the world” is to explored present day hands and the stories that they tell.    However, I realize there have been thousands of years of civilizations with people who have had hands that shaped the world, and  I feel it only fitting honor those from the past…again from people throughout all stages of life; those of diverse cultures, creeds, and with purpose. 

If you are apt to participate and submit hands from the past, please go to the Share Hands page and email me the photo (preferably .jpg  file) and the history of the hands directly.  Please make sure that there is enough information to categorize your submition as “hands that shaped the world”. 

I look to those of you who want to participate by adding to the list of hands from the past that shaped the world before us.  

I see this project as a community effort; one that I cannot do with out help from people around the world.  I graciously appreciate all of you who feel inclined to participate.