so many hands

March 8, 2011

My mind is overflowing with opportunities to catch hands in action and then coax a story out of their owner.  I have not yet started carrying a camera or a voice recorder…these are items that are on my wishlist.

This weekend, well Friday evening and Saturday (day and night) I spent volunteering for the Enfield Montessori School Annual Parent Auction.  As I was focused on my task of running the set up of the silent auction prior to the event and then running the silent auction during the event, I couldn’t help but think about all the other volunteers and their hands.  I shared the project I am working on with some…and they all looked at their hands and told me it was a great idea.

But what I found most interesting is that while we were all at the event venue, Brewster Hall at Suffield Academy, we were all using our hands in different ways to bring the event together.  The talents people had…some working with Mac’s, other’s merchandising items, some making live auction displays, others placing bid forms….It was a collective effort, but each volunteer/person in the room was using their hands in a way that fit them.  And, I love that! 

Call me crazy…but it is true – artist or not, we all use our hands to shape the world around us.  So far I am zeroed in on my immediate community and would like to broaden the horizon.

I urge those of you who are the least bit interested to submit a picture and story of your hands to handsthatshapetheworld@cox.net .