Hello world!

February 23, 2011

heart in hands, everyone deserves to feel love and have peace

My name is Courtney Reim.  I am in my 35th year of life.  I am defined by so many things I have been through and experienced in my life and I know my hands confirm so much about me.  I am a wife, mother, daughter, sister, friend, volunteer, artist, and an idealist. 

I believe I was born with an innate desire to make a difference in the lives of people close to me and those across this beautiful planet.   Maybe we all are born with this desire.  For me, I knew this at an early age, probably 6 or 7. 

I believe every human deserves to know freedoms and to know what peace is; whether it is internal peace, or peace in a community setting. 

I have been searching for a project that will help me “give back” in some way for many years…Just yesterday, as I was riding a stationary bike I was looking at my hands and daydreaming it came to me.  I’ve got it!  I was going to explore the world through people’s hands and share it with the world of people who are interested.  As I finished my ride, I decided that I would attempt this project simply by gathering pictures of hands from friends and strangers with a “short” description of where the hands have been including how they have helped shape the world! 

I often look at my hands and other people’s hands…they tell a story (both the tops and the palms). Hands are beautiful.   I want to explore this and hope that people will follow me on this journey.   

I need help.  I would like whoever is reading this to send me pictures of their hands, and if so inclined a story of how they have helped shape the world.  And, please spread the word of the project underway.

 

Leave a comment